+359 56 840864


Information about Uruguay


The Eastern Republic of Uruguay, formerly called Banda Oriental (East Bank), is located in the southern part of South America. It is bordered by Brazil to the northeast, Argentina to the west, the Atlantic Ocean to the southeast and the Río de la Plata (River Plate) to the southwest.

The country is divided in 19 departments. The capital of Uruguay is the city of Montevideo, which is located inside the department with the same name, and it is placed in the south, in the bank of the River Plate. 

It is one of the smallest countries in the continent. According to some studies, it is the least corrupt nation in Latin America after Chile.Furthermore, it has the lowest rate of poverty in the area. 

People are highly educated, kind and friendly. The population consist mainly of white people and, for the most part, descendants of Italian and Spanish immigrants. There is also, in small proportion, native, mixed race and black people.

Another characteristic that distinguishes Uruguay is that it is one of the safest countries of the world with a high standard of living and a high life expectancy.

In arriving to Uruguay, you will feel welcome, smothered with attention, and you will realize that, beside the wonderful and varied touristic options, there is affable and polite people who are willing to offer you excelent assistance.  




 Official Name Eastern Republic of Uruguay
 Capital Montevideo
 Geographical Location  South America- between parallels 30º and 35° latitud South and meridians 53° and 58° longitude West
 Surface 176.215 km2 
 Limits Brazil to the N and NE, Argentina to the E, River Plate to the SW and Atlantic Ocean to the SE
 Gentile Uruguayan – Oriental
 Official Language Spanish 
 Independency August 25th, 1825
 Population 3.151.662 inhabitants according to census from 1996  
 Type of Government  Democratic Republican Representative  
 Official Educational System Lay, free and compulsory  
 Literacy 96,2%,
 Elections Presidential elections every 5 years, in years ending in 0 or 5
 Suffrage Compulsory, starting at the age of 18 
 Religion Catholics 56,2% – Non religious 38,3% – Protestants – 2% Jewish 1,7% 
 Ethnic Groups White 88% – Mixed Race 8% – Black 4%
 Visa Granted for 90 days
 Immigration Requirement Neighbouring Countries: documento de identidad
Rest of the world: passport
 Coasts 660 km 
 Highest Point 514 metres, Cerro Catedral
 Currency Uruguayan Peso
 National Flower The Ceibo 
 Electricity 220 Volts
 Business Hours Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm 
 Banking Hours Monday to Friday from 1pm to 5pm 
 Tip 10% 
 Local Grape Variety Tannat 
 Native Dog Breed  Cimarrón Uruguayo 
 Telephone Prefix + 598 
 Time Zone UTC-3  
 Internet Domain  


About the Author

Leave a Reply